Managing Clients
When you work with multiple clients, you need to somehow categorize your work time spent on each client. TMetric allows you to add clients to your account and assign projects to them. You can then generate client-based reports to be able to bill your clients based on the billing information.
Table of Contents
Adding a client
Go to Clients in the sidebar.
Click the New Client button.
On the New Client page, specify a client's name and address. Once you add your client's address, it will be displayed in each invoice generated for this client.
Set a default billable rate and its currency. When you create a new project for the client, the client's default billable rate will automatically be assigned as a project rate.
Optionally, add an avatar from the selection of available avatars.
Click Save and the client will be added to the list of your clients.
Editing and deleting a client
Go to Clients in the sidebar. The Clients page will open showing a list of your clients with the number of active projects and total projects for each client.
Click the corresponding action overflow button to edit or delete a client.
Find a client using the Search field. As you type the name of the client, the filter shows only the names matching your request.
Assigning a client to multiple projects at once
In the sidebar, click Projects.
On the Projects page, check the projects you want to assign to your client.
Click the Set Client button and select the client you need.
The specified client is assigned to the selected projects.
Archiving a client
1. Go to Clients in the sidebar.
2. Find the client you want to archive in the list and click the actions menu next to it.
3. Select Archive from the menu and confirm the action.
You can also archive a client directly from the Edit Client page using the Actions menu in the top-right corner. Once archived, the client is removed from the active client list. To display archived clients, click the Show Archived button above the list.
You can’t assign archived clients to projects or use them in invoices or recurring invoices. However, existing Done and Archived projects retain their assigned clients. Archived clients appear in report filters only if they have at least one Done project. You can still edit an archived client, except for its contacts.
Archiving a client automatically locks its representatives. When you unarchive a client, representatives return to their previous status, but those who were locked manually must be unlocked manually.
The client remains archived until you manually unarchive it. To do so, open the actions menu for the client you want to unarchive and select Unarchive.
Didn’t find what you were looking for?
If you didn't find what you were looking for, you can make a support request or email us to [email protected]. We'll be glad to help you personally.